DIY World Map Mural!

I am happy to introduce the colorful world map mural that I painted (with a little help) in my daughter’s nursery. It took a while, but it was pretty straight forward! I found some map images that I liked online, projected the images onto Hazel’s wall, and traced the borders of the continents with a pencil. After lightening the borders with a magic eraser, I painted the continents with simple craft paint.

This easy technique yielded a very detailed, and colorful image that brightens my day every day! (Of course, how detailed your mural is depends on how detailed the image is that you choose.) We wanted to refer to the map to teach our kiddos about world geography, which is why I opted for more realistic borders.

I hope you enjoy this video! Let me know if you have ever painted a mural. What technique did you use? What advice would you recommend?

Leave a comment